Florida Structural Engineers Association
 
 
 
 
  • Home
  • NCSEA Webinar

NCSEA Webinar

  • 15 Jan 2019
  • 1:00 PM - 2:30 PM
  • Webinar

Registration

Making Money: Design Services, Budgeting & Scope Management

DESCRIPTION

The preparation of design budgets and the monitoring of costs are major activities for design firm project managers. Although they are often performed separately, both are basic to a firm's profitability and success in providing effective professional services. The project budgeting process has two interdependent aspects: estimating compensation and determining the actual detailed project budget by phase or activity. Once a budget and scope of services has been established, the project manager must monitor the work and segregate any labor and expenses for activities outside of the contractual scope. Scope creep is a major source of lost profits for engineers and requires establishing controls before any contract is signed. This webinar discusses what considerations need to be assessed before signing a design services contract. It also discusses the design fee budget and why projects run over their design budgets.

  • Course will award 1.5 hours of continuing education
  • Diamond Review approved in all 50 states

CONTRIBUTORS

  • Howard Birnberg

    Mr. Birnberg is president of Birnberg & Associates, a management consulting, association management and publishing firm serving the design and construction industry. He is the author of “Project Management for Designers and Facilities Managers, 4th edition,” (J. Ross Publishing, 2015). Mr. Birnberg is the executive director of the Association for Project Managers, an international organization of project managers in the design and construction industry. He regularly provides webinars and online courses for ACEC, ASCE, NCSEA and other construction industry associations.

January 15, 2019 Tue 12:00 PM CST 

U.S. Time Zones

Tue 10:00 AM PST
Tue 11:00 AM MST
Tue 12:00 PM CST
Tue 1:00 PM EST

DURATION 1H 30M

$225.00 - $275.00

Add to Cart

Already Registered? Sign InSystem Requirements »


Questions and Comments Please contact Sara Guthrie at (407)347-4962 Email:  fseadirector@flsea.com

                                                                             

                                                                             Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software