Florida Structural Engineers Association
 
 
 
 
  • Home
  • NCSEA - Tsunami Design in ASCE 7-16

NCSEA - Tsunami Design in ASCE 7-16

  • 06 Oct 2016
  • 3:00 PM
  • Webinar

Tsunami Design in ASCE 7-16: An Overview of the New Provisions

October 6, 2016

Please note this webinar has a special start time
12:00pm Pacific, 1:00pm Mountain, 2:00pm Central, 3:00pm Eastern 

Pricing
  • $225 NCSEA member
  • $250 SEI/CASE member
  • $275 non-member

This webinar will feature a presentation on tsunami design, specifically the upcoming provisions in ASCE 7-16 (IBC-2018). Over the last decade the world has seen four major tsunamis strike populated areas around the globe, all four causing massive loss of life and property. Even most recently, in the 2011 Tohoku event which occurred in a region that has experienced many tsunamis, there was significant loss of life and damage to most infrastructure. That being said, some structures that were adequately designed for tsunami loads performed very well, proving that tsunami resistant buildings are feasible. Here in the United States, local jurisdictions have begun to place more emphasis on planning for a major tsunami event by expanding beyond evacuation routes to planning for the event more comprehensively. However under current code in the United States (IBC 2015 and before) we do not design for tsunamis however in 2011, ASCE commissioned a subcommittee to begin putting together a set of provisions to be included in ASCE 7. The result is the new Chapter 6 for the 2016 edition of ASCE 7 which provides design loads for tsunamis. These loads will allow engineers to design structures to help communities to begin to develop tsunami resistant infrastructure. These provisions will contain requirements that will be very different than other loading such as wind or seismic. The presentation will include background on tsunami behavior, overview of recent events, background on the development of the provisions, an overarching summary of the provisions, and some brief design examples. 

Go to NCSEA.com to register.

Questions and Comments Please contact Sara Guthrie at (407)347-4962 Email:  fseadirector@flsea.com

                                                                             

                                                                             Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software