Florida Structural Engineers Association
  • Home
  • News and Information

Wood Cantilever Diaphragms

This month we're offering a special 4-part webinar series on the analysis of open-front or corridor-only shear wall diaphragms—delivered by one of the foremost experts in the field, Terry Malone, who literally wrote the book on irregular diaphragms. An understanding of this topic is essential for modern building designs that often include more glass, larger openings, and greater height than buildings in the past.

Join us Tuesdays and Thursdays from Feb 4 to Feb 13:
10 am Pacific, 11 am Mountain, 12 pm Central, 1 pm Eastern

It is recommended that you watch this series in order. If you miss one of the live sessions it can be viewed in the archive (without credit) and will be available a few hours after the live event. 


Part 1: Cantilever Diaphragms: Code Requirements and Relative Stiffness Issues

The series kicks off with a look at code requirements and relative stiffness issues associated with cantilever diaphragms in wood structures.



Part 2: Shear Wall Design in Cantilever Diaphragm Structures

This webinar introduces an open front diaphragm design example that will be worked through for the rest of the series.



Part 3: Cantilever Diaphragm Design, Flexibility Check, and Drift Calculations

This webinar takes an in-depth look at cantilever diaphragm design processes including diaphragm force distribution and more.



Part 4: Torsional Irregularity and Design Example Checks of an Open Front Building

This concludes the open front diaphragm design example by analyzing the degree of torsional irregularity and amplification of accidental torsion.


Terry Malone, PE, SE, WoodWorks

Terry Malone is a licensed structural engineer in Washington, Oregon and Arizona with over 35 years of wood design experience. He is an active presenter at ICC chapters and professional engineering organizations. Terry is author of The Analysis of Irregular Shaped Structures: Diaphragms and Shear Walls, published by McGraw-Hill and ICC.


WoodWorks – Wood Products Council provides free technical support as well as education and resources related to the code-compliant design of commercial + multi-family wood buildings.

Engineering Structural Glass Design Guide


The Engineering Structural Glass Design Guide is aimed at structural engineers who are experienced in designing building structures and elements using traditional materials but with little to no experience in using glass to transfer forces. The intent of this Guide is to collate relevant design references, requirements, and analysis methods into a single source for easy reference. This guide will provide the Engineering Professional with sufficient background knowledge and current methods to determine the specification of glass elements in buildings.

Authored by Marcin March, P.E., CEng, MIStructE, and Franklin Lancaster, P.E., and edited by Phil Khalil, P.E. with the assistance of the NCSEA Publications Committee

Purchase the Paperback ยท Purchase the Electronic Version





Questions and Comments Please contact Sara Guthrie at (407)347-4962 Email:  fseadirector@flsea.com


                                                                             Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software